NaNoWriMo is the least of my problems.

Posted on October 29, 2010

9


I’m pretty sure I’m insane. And I’m pretty sure all my readers are going to suffer for it. Can I write a novel in one month, starting from scratch? Well I have no idea. But we’re all about to find out.

 Why would I subject myself to this insanity? Or, more importantly, why would I subject you to it? I think it has something to do with the fact that I cannot relax. Sure, I can blow off an afternoon doing nothing but reading a good book. But I can’t relax in the bigger sense of the word. I can’t live a life without deadlines, without stress of some kind. In the few rare stretches of time between Kindergarten and now when I wasn’t in school, I was worried about going back to school. Or blowing off school to go find myself while solo backpacking through Europe. Or buying a house. Or painting a house. Or preparing to do something significant. With. My. Life.

  If all goes well, I’ll be graduating with a Master of Arts in Technical Communications in December. (You might think that at this point that I would be more certain about whether I’ll actually be graduating, and more importantly, obtaining that degree. But you should see the hoops I’ve had to jump through. Reams and reams of paperwork. And everything needs about 100 signatures. I work for the government and even I know a bureaucratic mess when I see one. I’m almost positive I’ll miss something and be forced to go back to high school as a result.)

 Now all that work is coming to fruition. I’m afraid that once I graduate for good I won’t know what to do with myself. I’m afraid I’ll just wonder around for months on end going “Did I leave the stove on?” (And no, going back to school again is not an option. I even wrote myself a letter in the rare instance that I’m tempted. It basically says “Are you f**cking crazy?”).

 Um..anyway. Yes. December. End. Of. School. So what to do with myself? It makes perfect sense to kick that off my future aimlessness with a month dedicated to writing a novel. Perfect sense. Because I don’t see how a full time job and a life can possibly interfere with this plan.

 The problem? Well, I have no idea what to write about. Any suggestions? I’m totally open to ideas. What I really need is a random word generator. For the ideas. I need a noun, a verb, and an adjective/adverb. For instance:

Sticky Paperclip leaps gracefully.
Bottled popcorn sings tragically.

 No. I don’t think either of those will work. Well, as a plot for a book anyway. Maybe?  I don’t know. This nonsense kicks off on Monday. I’ll try to check in as often as I can. Posts might be shorter, but more insane. And snowball people may or may not make an appearance. It all depends on how far down the rabit hole I get.

 Let’s Rock.

[UPDATE: I think I've got a plot. It's a bit weird. And it's definately not writing what I know. We'll see how it goes. If it doesn' work, I can always revert back to writing about my own life. But my own life is so...you know.]

Tagged: ,
Posted in: Uncategorized